Call Us: 833-I-AM-ARRL

ARRL Organization

ARRL is a representative democracy — its members control its policies through the power of the ballot.

The ARRL Articles of Association and By-laws give direct responsibility to set ARRL policy to an elected Board of Directors. Fifteen Directors are elected on a regional basis, one per ARRL Division, to serve three year terms. Directors receive no monetary compensation for their service, although they are eligible to be reimbursed for out of pocket expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. ARRL Officers are chosen by the Directors.

Each Director has a Vice Director to assist him or her. Vice Directors, also elected by ARRL members in each Division, fill in for Directors as needed. Section Managers (SMs) are elected to two year terms by the ARRL members in their sections.

Additional information can be read on the ARRL Policy on Board Governance and Conduct of Members of the Board of Directors and Vice Director.

The ARRL Board determines the ARRL policies that are implemented by the HQ staff. Each Division’s Director and Vice Director represent their Division on ARRL policy matters. If you have a question or comment about League policies, contact your Director or Vice Director.

Every two years the Directors nominate and elect a President, a First Vice President, a Second Vice President, an International Affairs Vice President, a Secretary, a Treasurer, and a Chief Executive Officer as officers who serve on the Board of Directors.

The President presides over all Board meetings and is the official spokesman of the Board regarding ARRL policy. The current President is Rick Roderick K5UR.

When the President is unable to attend a Board meeting, the First Vice President presides over the meeting. The current First Vice President is Gregory Widin, KØGW.

The Secretary records the proceedings of Board meetings and meetings of the Executive Committee, and is responsible for maintaining the corporate status of the organization. The current Secretary is Tom Gallagher, NY2RF.

The Board employs a Chief Executive Officer who manages League affairs under the direction of the Board. The current CEO is Tom Gallagher, NY2RF.